Arid Letters

The Diary of an English Teacher in Arabia

Saudis Do Get How To Dress

Leave a comment

I’m writing this post to ameliorate the response that I received from yesterday’s post. I fear it sounded overly judgmental or critical. That wasn’t my intent. I simply wanted to point out things that are different here – things that don’t seem logical through the filter of my own perception, coming from the west. Yesterday’s post was one post full of things that don’t happen here, but please remember that every other post I have written details the many wonderful things that do happen here. In addition, I find myself in the regrettable but unavoidable position of needing to draw some generalities. Unavoidable, because I’m trying to paint a picture for friends and family at home of what things are like here. I make an effort to work strictly from personal anecdotes, but at some point, I have to make statements such as “Saudis are like this.” Not all Saudis, everywhere, all the time. It’s just a general impression I’m receiving as someone new to this country. I will try to avoid generalities from this point in. However, after yesterday’s post about things Saudis don’t get, here is today’s post about just a few of the things that Saudis do.

Saudis get how to dress. I haven’t seen one distastefully clothed person since I’ve been here. This county doesn’t have the equivalent of that lady at Walmart in sweatpants, with “Princess”
bedazzled across a stained, baggy shirt. You just don’t see things like that here. Even the lower classes wear tasteful button downs and slacks. Because Saudis get how to dress.

Saudis get how to have a good time. Once I got settled in Al Kharj, I haven’t had one occasion to feel bored. Trips to the desert, having coffee, playing soccer, going to the mall, going out to eat, seeing farms, going to museums and galleries… You get the point. Once I got settled in and met some local people, I have not had a single occasion to feel bored. Sometimes, on the weekends, I’ve actually wished I could have a little more time to myself. The best part is that Saudis know how to have a dance party without alcohol. Saudis get how to have a good time.

Saudis get good food. Oh me, oh my… Have I been barefoot since I got here? Because the food is consistently rocking my socks off. Kabobs, shwarmas, kabsa, delicious pastries, with all of it washed down by top notch tea and coffee – I’m havingh to do a lot of exercise to keep the weight off. One month in and I’ve been successful so far, but the food here is very carb heavy. Every dish comes with a pile of rice or flatbread, often both. But I think the food is still healthier here then in America. The meat is usually lean, chicken or lamb, and the dishes contain a lot of whole foods, especially fresh vegetables. Despite the desert climate, Saudis grow many vegetables with the use of greenhouses. The city I’m in, Al Kharj, is an agricultural center, and we have a produce market with tons of cheap veggies just a few blocks from our apartment. The food is always absent of preservatives and other chemicals, unlike in America. A burger from McDonalds just tastes like, well, a burger – almost a little bland, really, compared to the MSG and sodium laced stuff in America. And the food is here is so cheap. I can get top notch shwarma or a filling dish of curry for 6 or 7 riyals – less then two US dollars.

Saudis get progress. Hear me out here. I don’t want to get anyone in trouble – myself included – so I’m going to stay away from specifics. But there are two elements in this country – the system, imposed by a well-meaning but archaic hierarchy. The other element is popular opinion. From the many talks I’ve had with students, it seems clear that popular a opinion is yearning for change. For obvious reasons, I can’t say much more. Maybe this picture can say what I can’t. 20130527-214544.jpg Saudis get change.

Saudis get how to shop. Malls are one of the primary recreational outlets here. And they’re more then just a place to buy goods. They’re cultural centers and places to socialize. This building is Riyadh is home to one top notch mall – it is also the tallest building in the Kingdom at 99 stories. Saudis definitely know how to shop.
20130527-220000.jpg

Saudis get generosity. In other posts, I’ve talked about people giving rides to strangers, and about people never being to busy for another person. I’ve been literally overwhelmed by Saudi generosity – as I mentioned, by the end of last weekend, I was actually craving some time to myself. But we just had too many friends that wanted to entertain us, show us around, give us a good time. Because Saudis get generosity.

Oh one more thing. Saudis DEFINITELY get WWE. And how about Brock Lesner defeating Triple H?! Go South Dakota!

20130527-215722.jpg

Author: Simeon Brown

Love walking barefoot on hot asphalt, love skateboarding, dislike foods that come in boxes. Amateur creative writer, professional cool hunter, pianist. Favorite part time job ever? Mortician's assistant. Favorite visual artist? Louis Wain.

Leave a Reply

